Success, Failure and Balance

balanceComing into the new year, I had an idea that I was ready for balance in my life. I started leading an office of Realtors in August of 2009. It was definitely a new challenge for me. I had been selling real estate but did not know how to run a business, much less manage others. I was 32 years old and and knew I had the potential to do more, so I jumped. Actually, I dove. I dove into learning. I had to learn profit & loss statements, projections, recruiting, operations and this new term, leadership. I dove deep into books, seminars, training events. I had a coach, mentors and I was a sponge.

Success = giving your all

Failure = giving nothing

As you might have experienced or can imagine, a deep dive into one area of your life will take you out of balance in other areas. Growing from 40 Realtors to 340 Realtors, dominating the market place year after year, growing one of the largest Luxury divisions and Commercial divisions in the nation, moving from a staff of 2 to a leadership team of 9 and continually showing up in the top 10% of a worldwide company requires deep breaths for deep dives.

Success = ambition with action

Failure = comfort

Along the path of achievement there have been losses. Living a life so deep into one area will always have its consequences. Then there are the benefits as well- A mind that is rich with information, a heart full of love, and the ability to impact others. In all honesty, this deep dive has changed my life and moved me along a path that I would have otherwise not known existed. It is an entirely new world and one I get to share.

Success = achievement

Failure = wishing you would have taken action

As I prepare my goals for the new year, I had an idea of applying balance to my life. What would it look like to balance between work, family, adventures, learning new trades and starting new businesses. Day 1 and Day 2 were good. By the end of Day 3, I was exhausted and didn’t understand why. As I prepared my coffee this morning, I noticed how easily I have slipped into my old routine. Then I understood why.

There is no balance in success.

Success = doing your best

Failure = doing nothing

When you are driven, you are driven in everything you do. It is the drive that creates the imbalance. You can not turn off passion. You can not turn off ambition. You carry it through life in everything you do. There is not a gauge for the amount of energy allotted to one area of your life. I no longer seek balance. I seek joy. Joy is living everyday at its fullest in everything I do.

Success = joy

Failure = regret

 

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. Right here is the perfect webpage for anyone who hopes to find out about this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want toÖHaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that has been discussed for a long time. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

Leave a comment