Parole your heart

I am reading “Emotional Intelligence 2.0” and I feel like I am just learning the most essential skills needed in life – AND I AM 42 YEARS OLD! All of this information is just baffling to me. It is baffling we are not taught this at an earlier age. Parole your Heart (1)

Yesterday I taught a real estate class and before we got started, I remembered Brene Brown’s quote, “Leaders must either invest a reasonable amount of time attending to fears and feelings or squander an unreasonable amount of time trying to manage ineffective and unproductive behavior.” I started the class by addressing their fears and feelings. It has been one week in this class and they were not doing the activities to succeed in this business. Trying to manage or “push” their tasks was ineffective. TEN YEARS teaching and coaching real estate agents and just now learning how to help them be more effective by addressing their emotional being!

Brene writes, “when we become disembodied from our emotions to the point that we literally don’t recognize which physical feelings are connected to which emotional feelings, we don’t gain control, we lose it.”

If there is a SECRET SAUCE to truly helping people move forward in business and life, THIS IS IT!

As children and young adults, we build walls to protect ourselves. For some of us these walls are what helped us survive to adulthood. As adults we question why there is a disconnect between what we want to do versus what we actually do. This has plagued human behavior for centuries. There is even a bible verse about it.

Romans 7:15 “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”

This entire time the answers were in the emotions we imprisoned our first 25+ years of life! In order to gain control of our lives we must understand our emotions. We must parole our hearts.

As adults we need to stop going back to school to get our MBAs and start looking for a MEI = Masters of Emotional Intelligence.

To achieve what we know we can achieve, we must first understand the emotions that are connected to our inactivity.

Leave a comment